Page 1 of 5
Site acting up?
Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:54 pm
by Dr. Doog
it's not really that it's loading slowly. I just get a quick 404 sometimes when I load a page. sometimes it starts loading the page but one of the include()s (the top of the page or the forum itself) returns a 404, sometimes it just goes straight to a 404. What's up, mr. server?
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:02 am
by Llewthepoet
Yeah, I have been getting a lot of 404's!
Calling jent...
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:04 am
by likeafox
Actually it's been happening on and off for 4 or 5 days now, but slowly seems to be getting worse. It looks to be some sort of server malfunction. I have no idea what's going on. jent doesn't know what's going on. I'll talk to him about it again the next chance I get, but all I can tell you guys is hang in there.
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:04 am
by Kojiro
I've gotten a few of them too, and some of the pics aren't loading correctly.
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:12 am
by Richard K Niner
Yeah, let's see...
Background images (and sometimes the background colour) disappearing on selected pageloads, other images getting corrupted out of my cache, random 404 error messages...
Is there a stability issue somewhere? It sounds like the file system is acting up.
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:54 am
by Richard K Niner
On that note, why does the default template use AJAX, er, SJAX to load that bar at the top? Couldn't you just have hard-coded it into the TPL files?
EDIT: Hmmm, I think I found the source of that problem from last April...
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:49 am
by Llewthepoet
I have a problem...When I load the page from the link in Google search page, sometimes it flashes a blank page real quickly that says some 404 link and then my IE shuts down.
Could I have a virus?
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:35 am
by Richard K Niner
I have a problem...When I load the page from the link in Google search page, sometimes it flashes a blank page real quickly that says some 404 link and then my IE shuts down.
I suspect that's the MSIE manifestation of the same problem in Firefox...
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:38 am
by Llewthepoet
I have a problem...When I load the page from the link in Google search page, sometimes it flashes a blank page real quickly that says some 404 link and then my IE shuts down.
I suspect that's the MSIE manifestation of the same problem in Firefox...
So, can you help me?
I will try to ID the link.
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:43 am
by Richard K Niner
So, can you help me?
I will try to ID the link.
Not really... I'm not the webmaster here.
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:34 am
by likeafox
And what do you expect me to do about it?
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:39 am
by osprey
I just get occasional 404s, to which I click back and re-click the link. Also, when I loaded the page today, the Log In link at the top of the page didn't load, so I had to used the text fields at the bottom of the page.
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:09 am
by baloki
I have a problem...When I load the page from the link in Google search page, sometimes it flashes a blank page real quickly that says some 404 link and then my IE shuts down.
Could I have a virus?
It seems that sometimes the automatic redirect to the index page fails so typing
http://www.definecynical.net/index.php works, do a virus scan to be sure but I've had the same issue a few times and seem to be safe.
Edit: Viatnemise hackers anyone?
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:59 am
by osprey
I'd rather have Vietnamese noodle soup...
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:46 pm
by Richard K Niner
And what do you expect me to do about it?
For starters, fix the template?
The most noticeable problem I found is the section where you open the XMLHttpRequestObject: instead of
Code: Select all
if (req)
{
req.open('GET', url, false);
req.send(null);
element.innerHTML = req.responseText;
}
Use
Code: Select all
if (req)
{
req.open('GET', url, true);
req.onreadystatechange = function() {
if (req.readyState == 4) element.innerHTML = req.responseText;
};
req.send(null);
}
Here's why you should make that change: in the former code segment, the browser locks up on the send(null) call, until it gets a response. This is what "synchronous" means; its only advantage is that it is easier to code. In the latter code segment, after the request is sent, the code continues running, until it gets interrupted by a response (when it runs that anonymous function to handle it).
Interestingly, this solves the problem us Firefoxers were having last April. What it doesn't solve is the fact that you're adding to the server's load for not obvious reason by turning every page request into two (or more)...